Three Affiliated Tribes Logo

Three Affiliated Tribes
Environmental Division of the Natural Resources Department

 

GET INVOLVED

GET INVOLVED


Q: Are there ways the public can assist you and if so, how?
A:
Yes! We rely heavily on the publics input and observations. We encourage the continued support and calls from the public, they are our best source of leads to inspect.

During normal business hours, please call the main office number at (701) 627-4569.

Our compliance officers are on duty 24/7 – 365 days a year.

   Name   Title   Email   Phone: Office,Cell
             
   Edmund Baker   Director   edmundbaker@mhanation.com   701-627-6127
701-421-6873
             
   Mary Iorio   Water Quality Coordinator   miorio@mhanation.com   701-627-6124
701-421-7436
             
   Curtis Seeseequasis   Brownfields Coordinator   cseeseequasis@mhanation.com   701-627-6121
701-421-9469
             
   Jim Mossett   Pesticides Coordinator   jmossett@mhanation.com   701-421-0665
             
   Delvin Wolf   Underground Storage Tank
(UST) Coordinator
  delvinwolf@mhanation.com   701-627-6125
701-421-0220
             
   Robert Fimbres   Lead Compliance Officer   rfimbres@mhanation.com   701-627-6122
701-421-9631
             
   Milton Beston   Compliance Officer   mbeston@mhanation.com   701-627-6131
701-421-9103
             
   Charles Fox   Compliance Officer   charlesfox@mhanation.com   701-627-6128
701-421-1778
             
   Chad Morsette   Compliance Officer   chadmorsette@mhanation.com   701627-6129
701-421-1921
             
   Bonny Blake   Executive Administrative Assistant   bblake@mhanation.com   701-627-6133
701-421-6940
             
   Alvina Johnson   Administrative Asssistant   aclark@mhanation.com   701-627-6126
701-421-8313
             

BROWNFIELDS

If you know of any abandoned areas that may pose an environmental risk to the local community, please contact either Curt Seesequasis or Bryant Waupoose with details about the location. Photos, video and details about the site can be emailed to our addresses above.


COMPLIANCE

Oilfield filter "socks", also known as "FRAC SOCKS", are used to filter produced water at drilling sites. Produced water is a byproduct of oil and gas exploration and production.

Please report IMMEDIATELY these are a potential health risk. DO NOT touch or play with these! It is better to report a potential issue than not report it at all. Frac socks often contain naturally occurring radioactive materials. (See article in Forbes Magazine)

Q: What types of sites should be called into your program?
A: Any suspicious vehicles or individuals dumping any solids or liquids anywhere within reservation boundaries. Any suspicious smells or liquid that may raise your concern. Pay attention to oily or chemical sheens or smells. Seasonally, for instance in the winter, if you see someone dumping water on the roadway please call us as this is a potential hazard if it freezes and could cause an accident. Open pit dump site such as household trash not disposed of properly, hazardous materials, car batteries, tires, white goods, barrels, and sealed containers, abandoned buildings which could contain such hazards as asbestos and lead paint.


WATER QUALITY

If you have a groundwater well, you could be eligible to participate in the Water Division's current study.

The Three Affiliated Tribe's Environmental Division is collaborating with the U.S. Geological Survey North Dakota Water Science Center and U. S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) Region 8 Laboratory to monitor both surface water and groundwater quality. The objective is to determine if land use is impacting water quality on Tribal lands.

The U.S. EPA Region 8 Lab is running the analysis on all samples collected. Samples will be analyzed for pesticides, metals, volatile, semi-volatile organic compounds (s.a. BTEX and diesel range organics), and many other compounds. A full list of analytes are available here. 

The data will be publicly available and used in TAT Environmental Division’s end of year report. In the future, the data may be used in technical journal articles that would be published. If you participate in the study, the results from samples collected on your property will be made available to you.

If you are interested in participating in the study, please contact our representative at the TAT Environmental Division:

N. Scott BakerSection 106 Water Quality Coordinator

(701) 627-4569

sbaker@mhanation.com