

## RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD INDIAN RESERVATION

A Resolution Entitled: "Exclusion of 16 Individuals from the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation."

- WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934, and the authority under said Act and having adopted a Constitution and By-Laws pursuant to said Act; and
- WHEREAS, The Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes (or "Tribes") generally authorizes and empowers the Tribal Business Council to engage in activities on behalf of and in the interest of the welfare and benefit of the Tribes and of the enrolled members thereof; and
- WHEREAS, Article III of the Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes provides that the Tribal Business Council is the governing body of the Tribes; and
- WHEREAS, Article IV, Section 5(1) of the Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes provides the Tribal Business Council authority to adopt resolutions regulating the procedure of the Tribal Council and other Tribal Agencies and Tribal Officials of the Reservation; and
- WHEREAS, The Tribal Business Council passed the Civil Exclusion and Removal Code (or "Exclusion Code"), which is Title 2A of the Tribal Code of the Three Affiliated Tribes, on June 10, 2011 and such Code was amended by Resolution 13-001-VJB on January 24, 2013; and
- WHEREAS, Pursuant to the amended Exclusion Code, the Tribal Business Council may issue Emergency Writs of Exclusion for persons under certain circumstances as set forth in Section 2A-1-7(f)(B) of the Exclusion Code. Exclusion includes the removal of the person and any of her/his property from the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation (or "Reservation") at the person's expense and prevention of the reentry of the person onto the Reservation for such period of time as set forth by Tribal law; and
- WHEREAS, There is an emergency situation on the Fort Berthold Reservation within the meaning of Section 2A-1-7(f)(B) of the Exclusion Code and Jumero James, Toriano Davis, Robert Rutland, Kemisha White, Demitrious Glenn, Otis Puttman, Anthony Washington, Daquan Lunsford, Ervin Sampson Jr., Cordell Wilson, Andrea Loyd III, Reece Webster, James Hester Jr., Jalen Hester, Dequan Wells,



and Javonta Johnson are present or have been present on the Fort Berthold Reservation and have been brought forward as persons who meet the criteria for immediate Civil Exclusion from the Fort Berthold Reservation in North Dakota; and

- WHEREAS, The Tribal Business Council finds that it is in the best interests of the health, safety, and welfare of the Tribes and its members to immediately exclude from the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation the above-named individuals.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Tribal Business Council hereby issues Emergency Writs of Exclusion, and directs that the above-named Jumero James, et al., be excluded from the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation in North Dakota until such time as he/she petitions the Tribal Business Council to have the Writ of Exclusion dissolved and dissolution is granted by the Tribal Business Council. All Tribal Law Enforcement Officers are hereby directed to execute and enforce the Writs of Exclusion in accordance with Section 2A-1-7(f) of the Tribes' Civil Exclusion and Removal Code; and
- BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that the Chairman of the Tribal Business Council is hereby authorized to execute, along with V. Judy Brugh as Judicial Committee Chairperson, such Writs and to take such further actions as are necessary to carry out the terms and intent of this Resolution.



## CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation hereby certify that the tribal Business Council is composed of seven (7) members of whom five (5) constitute a quorum, 7 were present at a Regular Meeting thereof duly called, noticed, convened and held on the 8<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2021, that the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted at such meeting by the affirmative vote of 7 members, 0 members opposed, 0 members abstained, 0 members not voting, and that said Resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.

Chairman [X] Voting. [] Not Voting.

Dated this 8th day of April, 2021.

ATTEST:

Executive Secretary Fred Fox

Tribal Business Council
Three Affiliated Tribes

Tribal Chairman, Mark N. Fox

Tribal Business Council
Three Affiliated Tribes